Relax, Nobody Cares What You Do

When I returned from my trip to the Mississippi Delta, I sat down at my desk, and asked myself, “Does anything I do here really matter?”

After about an hour of going through my inbox, deleting e-mails sent by people who do not know the difference between the “Reply” and “Reply to All” buttons, I asked myself, “What the hell am I doing here?” And so I started thinking about how pointless my work seems.  I started cursing my corporate partners under my breath for their lack of forethought, or after thought, or thought of any kind.

My brain hurted.

So I went to the kitchen and got a plastic spoon so that I could give myself a lobotomy. A voice in my head said, “Seeketh not understanding. It will only cause your brain to explode.” I put down the spoon, and I realized that it was pointless to think about the why things are the way they are, or why I was doing the things I was doing in the absurd way I was doing them.

My brain hurted no more!

The epiphany I had at inspired me to add a few more rules to Bob’s Guide to Corporate Survival.

It’s amazing how an impending lobotomy (self-induced or otherwise) can provide a moment of clarity. For nobody cares what you do, as long as 1) you look busy and 2) whatever needs to get done, gets done.

I find that liberating.

Leave a Reply

