Wear Wolves of Chicago

One of the differences between riding Metra and riding the CTA is that monsters ride the CTA.

I realized this fact (a fact often overlooked) the night I took the Blue Line to O’Hare.

“Watch out for wolves,” one of my friends warned me.

“Huh, wh-what do you mean?” I’ve always been afraid of werewolves ever since I saw An American Werewolf in London when I was twelve. The scene where the werewolf stalked a businessman in the London Underground has haunted me ever since.

I am now terrified of subways and Londoners.

I entered the Chicago Avenue Blue Line stop with great trepidation, warily looking for signs of werewolves. Before long one came charging towards me baring sharp fangs, its tongue dripping with the blood of a recent kill. Its malevolent green eyes glowed in the dimly lit corridor.

Thinking quickly, I reached for a vial of holy water (for I had prepared for just such an encounter) and sprayed the beast.

“What the hell?!?” it howled. “Look at my Chicago Wolves jersey! It’s completely soaked! What were you thinking?”

I quickly apologized. “I’m sorry, I thought you were a werewolf.”

“”Seriously?” it barked. “Don’t you know anything?  Holy water works on vampires; you need a silver bullet to kill a werewolf.” It then loped away.

What differences have you noticed between riding Metra and the CTA ? Click on the Comment button to share your observations.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

