Metra vs. CTA

I rarely write about the news, as it relates to mass transit. But the cover of yesterday’s RedEye, “Transit Bias” compels me to make a comment or two.

Some of the plaintiff’s’ allegations disturb me. In particular, I find that the claim that Metra gets more money from the state per rider than the CTA troubling.

My commute includes both the Metra and the CTA. I’ve had to wait on the slushy corner for a bus that shows up 40 minutes late. I’ve also had to wait an hour for the next train to Bartlett after just missing the 12:30 P.M. train when working a half day. I know what it’s like to sit on Metra trains that have not moved for hours because of a mechanical breakdown. And don’t get me started on the lack of Metra’s weekend service.

On the other hand, Metra has conductors and bathrooms.

I come to the conclusion that if Metra gets more money per rider than the CTA, then it is because Metra is not nearly as efficient as the CTA. I doubt it has much to do with racial discrimination.

But what do I know?

Let me know what you think by clicking on the Comment button below.

Leave a Reply

