Would You Like a Bite?

I was running late today, so I toasted an English muffin, quickly spread peanut butter on it, and wrapped it in a paper towel as I rushed out the door.

Once I was safely on the train, I unwrapped the English muffin, and prepared to savor my morning feast.

“Hey, didn’t I tell you that the next time you brought food, you should bring enough for all of us?” scolded my friend Janet. Her companion John nodded in agreement.

“Sorry. Would you like me to tear off a piece for you?”

“What is it?” she inquired.

“It’s a whole-wheat English muffin with peanut butter.” I explained.

“Oh, no, I hate peanut butter. And I don’t like those kind of English muffins anyway.”

I took a bite out of it before I felt Leigh’s gaze drill into me.

“Oh, I’m sorry, Leigh. Would you like a bite?”

“Well, not after you just took a huge bite out of it!”

Thus, if you are expected to share your food with your fellow travellers, make sure it’s something they do not like, or take a bite out of it quickly.

There are some kinds of food I love to eat on the train: donuts, McDonalds, an English muffin with peanut butter. There are also some foods that I would never eat on the train: a blueberry muffin, shrimp cocktail, or anything that requires utensils.

What do you like to eat on the train? Or what kind of food do you think is inappropriate for consumption in the confined spaces of mass transit?

Click on the Comment button below and share your favorite (or least favorite) menu items. With your help, I could write a cookbook entitled “Mass Transit Meals: Things to Eat on the Train.”

Could be yummy…

Leave a Reply

